Issue when comparing directories

General questions about using ExamDiff Pro, ideas for new features, bug reports, and usage tips.
Post Reply
kisskool
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 3:43 am

Issue when comparing directories

Post by kisskool »

Hi Folks

I'm evaluating examdiff for a customer and I have an issue while comparing directories :

I want to compare each file in folder 1 with its "cousin" in folder 2.
i'm using the command line to run the comparison because it will run in a CI/CD factory

the folders/files are attached to the message.
the command line is : ExamDiff C:\Users\demo\Desktop\PDF C:\Users\demo\Desktop\PDF2 /g:C:\Users\demo\Desktop\PDF\Options.txt /n /f /html /o:c:\output.html

there is a message warning me that the HTML output will take time but the process never stops.
in c:\output\ there is a temporary hml file instead of having 1 output per file.

can you help ?
Attachments
Desktop.zip
(174.84 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 2123
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Issue when comparing directories

Post by psguru »

I can't reproduce this issue. Running your command:
report1.png
report1.png (7.39 KiB) Viewed 2403 times
The result:
report2.png
report2.png (64.24 KiB) Viewed 2374 times
psguru
PrestoSoft
User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 2123
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Issue when comparing directories

Post by psguru »

BTW, what happens when you run the same same comparison from the UI and then save the results as recursive HTML report?
psguru
PrestoSoft
kisskool
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 3:43 am

Re: Issue when comparing directories

Post by kisskool »

Hello !

thanks for your reply.
In fact, with the GUI it works, the changes are displayed file per file, but I wanted to do the same using the command line.
also, using the GUI to generate HTML report shows only the file changes not the details.

when the command line runs, it never stop. so the HTML reports are not created.

maybe I have to run file to file compare for each document in my folders :(
kisskool
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2021 3:43 am

Re: Issue when comparing directories

Post by kisskool »

new comment :

my goal is to be able to generate a folder that contains all the HTML reports (one per diff) so in this case 2 HTML reports.
JeremyNicoll
Expert Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Issue when comparing directories

Post by JeremyNicoll »

What was "psguru"'s second screenshot meant to show - it's the same as the first one.

Is there a way to get debug info generated as the command runs, and/or find out how long each part of the process takes?
User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 2123
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Issue when comparing directories

Post by psguru »

also, using the GUI to generate HTML report shows only the file changes not the details.
In the Save HTML Report file selection dialog, set "Include file diff" to Yes.
What was "psguru"'s second screenshot meant to show - it's the same as the first one.
It looks different for me: https://www.prestoforums.com/download/file.php?id=314
Is there a way to get debug info generated as the command runs, and/or find out how long each part of the process takes?
You can use the logging to file mechanism to get an idea of what's happening. Also, Process Explorer can be used to figure out what command line is currently hanging.
psguru
PrestoSoft
JeremyNicoll
Expert Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Issue when comparing directories

Post by JeremyNicoll »

psguru wrote: Thu Dec 23, 2021 8:53 am
What was "psguru"'s second screenshot meant to show - it's the same as the first one.
It looks different for me: https://www.prestoforums.com/download/file.php?id=314
No, that's your third screenshot. You posted the first screenshot twice, as far as I can see, but with two different introductory texts:

"I can't reproduce this issue. Running your command:" and "The result:"

then after that the picture of the html in a browser.

I only asked in case there was meant to be something, other than a duplicate of the first one, which we never saw.
User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 2123
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Issue when comparing directories

Post by psguru »

I see now, weird quirks of phpbb. I think I fixed this...
psguru
PrestoSoft
Post Reply