Installing v.11 beta as an upgrade to v.10 ?

General questions about using ExamDiff Pro, ideas for new features, bug reports, and usage tips.
Post Reply
Alexo
Expert Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:18 am
Location: GTA, Canada

Installing v.11 beta as an upgrade to v.10 ?

Post by Alexo »

In the past, every time a new major version would come out, it would not install as an upgrade to the existing one, like the minor version upgrades do.
Instead it would create its own uninstall entry and other mess, which would take me hours to clean.

I would like to install 11.0.0.0 beta over 10.0.1.17 as if it was just another 10.x release:
- In the same directory
- Using the existing configuration
- Without two uninstall entries that interfere with each other
- And so on...

How do I do that?

Thank you,
Alex.

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Installing v.11 beta as an upgrade to v.10 ?

Post by psguru »

Version 11 comes with some installation improvements but AppIDs are still different for each major version. Having them same creates more problem than it solves, at least when applied to our products. You can still override your 10 setup but there will still be two separate Uninstall entries (defined by AppID). To reuse your previous directory, choose Custom installation.
psguru
PrestoSoft

Alexo
Expert Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:18 am
Location: GTA, Canada

Re: Installing v.11 beta as an upgrade to v.10 ?

Post by Alexo »

This is exactly the problem that I am trying to avoid.
EDP is the only application that I use that does that.

Will exporting settings from the old version and importing htem into the new cover all the configuration/sessions/history items?

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Installing v.11 beta as an upgrade to v.10 ?

Post by psguru »

This is exactly the problem that I am trying to avoid.
EDP is the only application that I use that does that.
Many programs do this. Inno Setup installer itself does it (the installation tool EDP uses).
Will exporting settings from the old version and importing them into the new cover all the configuration/sessions/history items?
You don't even need to do this: all Registry settings are shared between versions.
psguru
PrestoSoft

Alexo
Expert Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:18 am
Location: GTA, Canada

Re: Installing v.11 beta as an upgrade to v.10 ?

Post by Alexo »

Uninstalled, rebooted, reinstalled, things appear to be working.
Thank you!

Post Reply