Encountered an improper argument

General questions about using ExamDiff Pro, ideas for new features, bug reports, and usage tips.
Post Reply
MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:50 pm

I was doing a backup and, just to try it, I turned on the "grouping" option (a thing I never use) by status.
So far so good.
Then I tried to ask EDP to copy a block to the other pane as usual by clicking on the arrows of the side bar.
No matter if the block is "added", "changed" or "deleted", the answer is (you guessed it?) "Encountered an improper argument".
The operation went fine, instead, if I selected the relevant block and then "Edit->Copy from first to second directory".

N.B. EDP 10.0.1.11 32 bit

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:32 am

Can't reproduce this, at least with the latest build (10.0.1.14). Could you zip a sample and email it to us, along with a screenshot?
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:32 pm

It seemed simple but at the moment I can't reproduce it too.
I must try by replicating the configuration I was using: 2 x 1 TB external USB drives.
I'll let you know.

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:17 am

It happened again.
I sent you the screenshot, the options and the data via wetransfer.
I just want to confirm that it's me and it's not spam or worse.
I hope it can help you.

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:01 am

Got your files but still can't reproduce. What button did you click? It's not clear from the screenshot.
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:39 am

I clicked on the (green) arrow of the left pane in the "added" section.
You can see the arrow disappeared when the dialog popped up.
I tried again right now and only the green arrow I clicked disappeared. The one in the left pane remained.
I don't know if it matters but remember that I'm talking about EDP 10.0.1.11

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:50 am

Could you try the latest build, before we have to set up the XP text box?
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:15 pm

Of course I can, but my license expired last March.

N.B. No problem with the 64 bits version (Win7)

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:45 pm

Please check your email.
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Version 10.0.1.14

Now the clicks on the left pane "added" arrow does... nothing. No dialog, no effect, nothing. Just a quick flash of the "highlight" of the empty block.
Then, clicking on the left pane "delete" arrow I get the usual message.

Now the "added" arrow puts out the dialog too, so as clicking anywhere on the diff bars does.

One more detail: if I scroll the "added" part out up then back in, the arrow reappears.

Sorry, I didn't try the last things with the older version.

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Wed Jun 26, 2019 1:01 pm

It seems broken for me on XP. Do you see the arrow button when you hover of an arrow in grouping mode? I don't see it in XP, but it works fine without grouping.
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:38 am

psguru wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 1:01 pm
Do you see the arrow button when you hover of an arrow in grouping mode?
Sorry but I don't understand.

I also think I didn't explain clearly.
"The arrow in the diff bar" I'm referring to is the green one in the vertical column at the left of each pane.
Clicking on it should trigger the copy (or delete) operation.
With the previous version, as you can see in the screenshot, the clicked arrow disappeared. Now it stays there but does nothing but a quick flash.
psguru wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 1:01 pm
it works fine without grouping.
Yes. If not, I would have complained long long ago! :lol:
Usually I don't use grouping.

I tried again and again and, with the setup and the data I sent you, it's quite repeatable (on XP).

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by psguru » Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:54 am

We are going to have a fix for this (XP-only) issue in the next build.
psguru
PrestoSoft

MSpagni
Expert Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Italy

Re: Encountered an improper argument

Post by MSpagni » Fri Jun 28, 2019 9:46 am

Glad you got it.
Thank you very much as usual.

Post Reply