Build 7.0.0.2 (64-bit) odd errors /disk utilization inquiry

General questions about using ExamDiff Pro, ideas for new features, bug reports, and usage tips.
EDP_Zomb1e

Build 7.0.0.2 (64-bit) odd errors /disk utilization inquiry

Post by EDP_Zomb1e »

I've been using EDP for a few years now after it was recommended to me by a dev at work across various system builds and have been extremely happy with the product .

A bit of background so you know where I am coming from:
- I'm using EDP primarily for manual data backups via diff analysis after running into a data-loss nightmare with a syncronization utility (and haven't looked back =)
- I just upgraded to Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit (clean install) from Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit and migrated my data onto new hard drives. On Windows 7 I was only using version 6 builds fyi (without a single issue on any stable build)

- My backup procedure is as follows:
> The bulk of my data (845GB atm) is sitting on a RAID 1 hybrid mirror (I'm using an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX mobo which has an onboard Promise hybrid RAID controller) and I do weekly differential (incremental) backups via EDP to a removable hard drive (hot-swap eSATA drive bay). A NAS/automated backup solution is on my wish list ;-)
> I have a "junk" drive (193GB of data atm) that the data I manipulate gets written to so as to decrease the wear on my primary OS SSD (Samsung 256 GB 840 Pro) via excessive write cycles and fragmentation on my primary data array (Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001's) that is mostly for archival/persistent data
- After using the native Windows 8.1 file manager to copy my data off my old array + junk drives to the new drives I purchased I ran a file comparison against the source + destinations to make sure everything was copied over 100% completely (yes I'm paranoid, but working in IT as a sysadmin for over 10 years I learned I had to be so I could sleep at night =D )