Exclude columns 1-6?

General questions about using ExamDiff, ideas for new features, bug reports, and usage tips.
Post Reply
Manor
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 10:58 am
Location: Sweden

Exclude columns 1-6?

Post by Manor »

Hi,

Is there a way to exclude column 1-6 from being marked as changed in ExamDiff, or would you consider implementing that? I know it's possible in ExamDiff Pro, but ExamDiff does everything I/we want except just that.

We access ExamDiff from a server, and it's a perfect way to set it up for a group of developers, and don't have to handling licenses as long it's for free.

Installing a software tool on every developers workstation/PC in a company includes a lot of extra work and cost by having to building a 'network package installation'...and as long we don't need the extra features in the Pro version we will stick with ExamDiff.

If it's a cost issue perhaps that is something we could discuss. We are 50 developers at the company using ExamDiff now and then...

Best regards,
Mats N - Sweden

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by psguru »

As you might have guessed, ExamDiff does not provide such functionality.
psguru
PrestoSoft

Manor
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 10:58 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Manor »

Would you consider implementing this feature in ExamDiff?

Best regards,
Mats N - Sweden

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by psguru »

No, this is very unlikely.
psguru
PrestoSoft

Manor
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 10:58 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Exclude columns 1-6?

Post by Manor »

Could you consider to create a "special version" of the ExamDiff with the possibility to exclude column 1-6?
Name your price!!?

Come on, it's soon Christmast :D.

Best regards,
Manor - a proude owner of the Pro version 8)

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Exclude columns 1-6?

Post by psguru »

I'm not sure I understand. You can already exclude columns in ExamDiff Pro, and you are "a proude owner of the Pro version". So what else is needed?
psguru
PrestoSoft

Manor
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 10:58 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Exclude columns 1-6?

Post by Manor »

Yes, I'm a proud owner of the Pro version...so I'm ok.
But the rest of the development team that uses ExamDiff installed on a server needs a way to exclude column 1-6 (see my first post in this tread).

Regards,
Manor

User avatar
psguru
Site Admin
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Exclude columns 1-6?

Post by psguru »

Well, this feature is only offered in ExamDiff Pro.
psguru
PrestoSoft

Post Reply